From the Alnwick Mercury, 1 April 1864
William the Lion’s Monument Rotten Row
The old monument placed in the last century to indicate the spot on which William the Lion was taken prisoner, has been recently superseded by a more modern memorial. This is plain dwarf block of free stone, about feet by 3 feet, which is rubbed smooth and raised two steps, the centre of the block, facing the road, is grey Aberdeen granite tablet, on which is the following inscription incised Roman letters, gilded :
WILLIAM THE LION
King of Scotland, besieging Alnwick Castle,
Was here taken prisoner,
The road, known as Rotten Row, which boasts this way side memorial, has been otherwise altered. The wooden fences which bordered the footway, although picturesque with their amber, grey and green tints, were difficult to keep in repair ; these have therefore been low curb-wall, surmounted by strong iron railing occupies their site or nearly so. A stone wall has been also built on the boundary of the roadside, from the grounds of Alnwick parsonage to the corner of the new road leading to the Moor, immediately front of the new castellated lodge with its gateway into Hulne Parks. An opening is left in the walling in front of the memorial so that it may be seen from the road, the opening being protected by an iron railing. The term Rotten Row, is confirmatory of the tradition here handed down as it is but a corruption of the name Route-au-roi or Kings Road, and not from Routine Row as noticed by correspondent in last months’ Mercury.